Skip to content

Daytona 500 Highest Paid Drivers With Highest Purse | Denny Hamlin Leads List with $6m Earnings In Three Wins at Daytona 500

  • by
Highest Paid Drivers Daytona 500

The Daytona 500 organize since 1959. The first race of the edition is won by Lee Petty who drives for the team of Petty Enterprises. As per reports $100k purse adjusted for the first edition. In the upcoming weekend the race is back and the drivers will earn big chunk of money from the Daytona 500 prize money. This year the purse for the Daytona increased to $23m to $25m. Winning driver will pocket guaranteed purse share of $2.5m. Austin Cindric currently listed highest paid drivers at Daytona 500 with maximum purse $2.2m last year.

Drivers who earn in millions from Daytona 500?

In last 10 years it’s Denny Hamlin who earned most money from the Daytona 500. He won the race three times in his career. In 2016, he earned $1.5m for winning Daytona 500 and later in year 2019, he earn $2m guaranteed share from the prize money.

Denny Hamlin Highest Prize Money Winner at Daytona 500 :
Denny Hamlin Salary

Denny Hamlin dominated the Daytona 500 race back in year 2016. Later win the Daytona 500 back to back in year 2019-20. He made purse upto $6m from all three wins. His career best earnings is $2.1m in 2021 Daytona 500.

Austin Cindric Purse Share $2.2m | Daytona 500 (2022) :

Austin Cindric who win’s the the Daytona 500 reported to be made $2.2m from overall purse. A US media outlet reported that $23m adjusted for the prize money according to which share winner rise to $2.2m n year 2022.

Winner SharePrize MoneyRace TeamTotal PurseYear
Jamie McMurray$1.2mEarnhardt Ganassi Racing$14m2010
Trevor Bayne$1.2mWood Brothers Racing$14m2011
Matt Kenseth$1.5mRoush Fenway Racing$16m2012
Jimmie Johnson$1.5mHendrick Motorsports$16m2013
Dale Earnhardt Jr$1.5mHendrick Motorsports$16.5m2014
Joey Logano$1.5mTeam Penske$16.5m2015
Denny Hamlin$1.7mJoe Gibbs Racing$18m2016
Kurt Busch$1.7mStewart-Haas Racing$18m2017
Austin Dillon$1.9mRichard Childress Racing$20m2018
Denny Hamlin$2mJoe Gibbs Racing$21m2019
Denny Hamlin$2.1mJoe Gibbs Racing$21m2020
Michael McDowell$2.2mFront Row Motorsports$22.5m2021
Austin Cindric$2.2mTeam Penske$23m2022
Yet to confirm$2.5m$25m2023

Once the 2023, Daytona 500 winners is confirmed, the details regarding to prize money share and overall purse of highest paid drivers at Daytona 500 will be updated here later.